COVID-19 UPDATE: We are open! Our team is working and offering consultations via phone, e-mail, and video conferencing.

TEXT US NOW - (901) 526-2126 

Memphis Hit-and-Run Motor Vehicle Accident Injures 3 Children

A burgundy Chevrolet Impala collided with another car, causing the driver to hit a guardrail and light pole after losing control in a recent Tennessee motor vehicle crash. Three children in the car were thrown from the vehicle as a result of the Memphis hit and run accident.

Police are still searching for the Impala blamed for the crash. The children were reported to be in non-critical condition after being ejected from their car by the collision. Police said only one car seat was inside the vehicle.

Although the same laws apply to everyone on Tennessee roadways, it is impossible to know how other drivers will behave when behind the wheel. To protect yourself and your family from the dangers of traveling by car, a seatbelt should be worn at all times and age- and size-appropriate car seats should be used to keep children safe as well.

Tennessee Seat Belt and Child Safety Seat Laws

According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Tennessee requires children under age 1 or 20 pounds to be secured in a rear-facing car seat. Children between 1- and 3-years-old and over 20 pounds must still be secured in a child safety seat, but may face forward. Kids ages 4 to 8 and under 4’9″ should ride in a booster seat. Once a child is 9 years old or over 4’9″, he or she can use the car’s own seat belt system.

Since 2004, Tennessee has required those age 16 and up to wear a safety belt while riding in the front seat of the car. Police throughout Memphis and the rest of Tennessee can pull over a driver who is not properly belted in or who is carrying a passenger that is not wearing a seat belt.

Seat belts and child restraint systems are intended to protect you and your passengers from serious, catastrophic injuries if you’re involved in a motor vehicle accident. That doesn’t mean that someone who does hit you has no responsibility for the damage and injuries he or she causes in a car crash, but is intended to increase the chances that, despite another’s bad or negligent driving, you and your family will have the best chance of walking away from a Memphis-area motor vehicle accident.