Being involved in a serious car accident can have many lasting impacts on many different areas of your life. One of the…
View Article

In the event of a car accident where you were not at fault and sustained injuries, you may be eligible to recover compensation for medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other losses. How long after an accident can you sue for the compensation you deserve?
Your right to sue the at-fault driver only lasts for a while. Every state has legal deadlines, known as statutes of limitations, that restrict your time to file a lawsuit. Understanding these timelines is critical to protecting your rights after an accident.
The answer can vary depending on the laws of the state where your accident occurred. Tennessee law dictates a one-year time limit for filing most car accident lawsuits. This means you have one year from the crash date to file your complaint in civil court.
If you suffered injuries in an accident in Arkansas, you have three years from the date of the crash to file your lawsuit. In Mississippi, the standard deadline is also three years after the accident.
Remember that these deadlines apply to filing a lawsuit, not to reporting the accident to your insurance company. Most insurers require you to report a crash immediately, often within 24 hours. If you fail to inform your insurer before their deadline, they may refuse your claim outright.
Start With a Free, No
Obligation Consultation
Statutes of limitations are strict deadlines set by law. If you miss the deadline to file your lawsuit (except in rare cases), the court will throw out your personal injury lawsuit. This means you lose your chance to sue the at-fault driver and recover compensation for your injuries.
In addition to the state-imposed deadline, several factors can impact the exact statute of limitations in your case:
An experienced Memphis car accident attorney can assess your unique situation and identify your case’s precise statute of limitations.
Get a free case review
today. There’s no fee
unless we win!
While it’s critical to understand the statute of limitations for filing your car accident lawsuit, other important deadlines may arise. How long after an accident can you sue? It depends on the legal deadlines in Tennessee. Some of these deadlines you need to take note of when filing a personal injury lawsuit are:
Your lawyer can manage all of these litigation deadlines and keep your case progressing promptly. The sooner you get an attorney involved, the more time they have to file a claim before the statute of limitations expires.
Over $500 Million
Recovered on Behalf
of Our Clients
Were you injured in a crash in the Memphis area? Don’t know how long after an accident can you sue? Don’t wait until your legal deadlines have passed to get help. The statute of limitations for most personal injury cases in Tennessee is only one year. The clock starts ticking on the date of your accident, so the sooner you talk to a lawyer, the better.
At Gatti, Keltner, Bienvenu & Montesi, our compassionate Memphis car accident attorneys are here to guide you through the legal process and fight for maximum compensation. We can identify all relevant deadlines in your personal injury claims and take swift legal action. Contact us today at (901) 526-2126 for a free, no-obligation consultation. You pay nothing unless our personal injury attorneys win your case. With our skilled team on your side, you can focus on your recovery while we handle everything else.
Reporting Car Accidents to Insurance Timeline
How Long Does a Car Accident Stay on Your Record in Memphis?