Protect Yourself By Filing a Car Accident Report
Car accidents happen every day, and while most are minor fender benders, some can be much more serious. In Tennessee, drivers must file a car accident report if the crash resulted in injuries, fatalities, or damage to property. If you’ve been involved in a car accident and need to file a report, this article will tell you everything you need to know about filing a car accident report in Tennessee. We’ll cover the basics, like what information you need to gather and where to go to file your report. We’ll also tell you what to expect after filing a report and the importance of doing so.
Contact Our Firm Today
Start With a Free, No-Obligation ConsultationFree Case Review
What to Include in Your Car Accident Report
While police reports are helpful with some information, they are not deemed evidence for the attending police officer’s opinion of the incident. Knowing that a police report has its limitations in a car crash claim, it is essential to know what to do and the specific elements that Tennessee requires to be included in a car accident report.
The first thing you should do is get the names and contact information of all the drivers involved in the accident. You will also need the license plate numbers of all the cars involved. If there were any witnesses to the accident, get their contact information. Next, you’ll need to write down a description of the accident. This should include where it happened when it happened, and how it happened. Be as specific as possible.
In addition to the above information, your car accident report must also include the following:
- Your name, address, and driver’s license number.
- The make, model, and year of your car.
- The names and contact information of any passengers in your car.
- Your insurance carrier’s name and policy number and contact information.
Get a free case review today. There`s no fee unless we win!
When and Where to File your Car Accident Report in Tennessee
No matter who is at fault for the accident, In Tennessee, you must file a car accident report with the Department of Safety if the accident resulted in injury, death, or property damage exceeding $400. You have twenty days to file the report.
If you are involved in a car accident, you should always call the police so that they can investigate the incident and fill out a police report. The police report can be beneficial in determining who is at fault. Even if you don’t think the crash was severe, it’s still a good idea to call the police and have them investigate.
If you don’t file a report, you could face penalties such as the suspension of your driver’s license or registration.
Over $500 Million
Recovered on Behalf
of Our Clients
The Importance of Filing a Car Accident Report in Tennessee
If you are involved in a car accident in Tennessee, it is essential to file a report with the local police department or sheriff’s office. Even if the damage appears minor, it is still a good idea to document the incident. Doing so will help ensure that all parties involved are protected if there are any future problems.
Once you have completed the report, keep a copy for your records. You should also send a copy of the document to your insurance company. Remember to provide as much information that you remember as possible and keep a copy of it for your records.
In some cases, filing a car accident report can also help resolve any disputes between the parties involved. If you have any questions about whether or not you should file a report, you should always consult with an attorney specializing in personal injury law.
Fighting for the MAXIMUM
Money for You
Tennessee Car Accident Statistics
According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, there were 97,711 reported car accidents in 2020. This total breaks down to approximately 265 accidents per day. Out of these incidents, there were 2,542 fatalities and 104,521 injuries. These statistics are concerning, as they show that car accidents are a common occurrence in Tennessee.
However, by being aware of this data and taking precautions when driving, you can help reduce your risk of being involved in an accident. If you are injured in a car accident in Tennessee, it is vital to seek legal assistance from a qualified personal injury lawyer.
Put Montesi`s Power
Lawyers to Work for You
When You Need Legal Help After a Car Crash
No one wants to be in a car accident. But if you are involved in a car accident in Tennessee, it is essential to know what steps to take afterward to ensure that your legal rights are protected.
The first step is to seek medical attention if you or any passengers in your vehicle have any injuries. The second step is to contact a car accident lawyer.
Your lawyer will protect your rights throughout the entire process and will work to get you the compensation you deserve for your injuries and damages. If the other driver was at fault, your lawyer will also work to hold them accountable and get you the justice you deserve. Don’t try to go through this process alone. When you need to recover compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering, Gatti, Keltner, Bienvenu & Montesi, PLC can help you every step of the way.
It’s Easy With Montesi! Contact us today at (901) 526-2126 to schedule a consultation and learn your rights.